Posted in Uncategorized

Catching Up

It’s been a bit of a hectic couple of weeks.  I had to take some time away from things just to make sure my head was in the right spot.

There’s so much going on that I don’t even know which direction I want to go.  I watch the news anxiously, afraid that tensions in the United States are reaching a boiling point.  I have tried to keep my mind off of the things on the news but I find that I cannot take my attention away from it.  I have started to avoid social media, friends are turning against friends, family against family.  The mudslinging is nonstop and petty.  Very few people can carry on a civil discussion about the new administration without it becoming a fight it seems, at least that’s what I’ve seen as I scroll through Facebook. I don’t mind the various opposing points of view, I just hate seeing the viciousness and lack of humanity that people seem to sink into when discussing politics these days.

But on the lighter side of life, Super Bowl Sunday is this weekend and I’m having my best friend and his girlfriend over.  I’m going to be making an elk roast in the slow-cooker.  I’ve never prepared game before so I’m very nervous.

I intended to stand on my soapbox a bit tonight but I guess I lost my fire quicker than I intended.  Perhaps in the morning I will have a renewed fire to write about the feelings that have been stirred within me since Inauguration Day.

 

Author:

Leaving the real world for one of my own making.

Leave a Reply

