Posted in Blog, Uncategorized

Starting Anew

IMG_20170514_172110324_HDR.jpg

As I write this, I am slowly packing my apartment.  We have about a month and a half left here but I had decided to get a head start on the packing of non-essential items since I have degenerative disk disease and spondylitis.  I am looking forward to getting out of this apartment and the apartment complex.  While the upstairs neighbors finally moved out, the complex seems to be getting worse.  We have a house waiting for us to move into about an hour’s drive from where we are now and I am looking forward to the move.

So since I am trying this again and starting anew, let’s start with the process of moving…

This is always a great time to get rid of needless clutter in our lives.  I mean, seriously, who really wants to move to a whole new home with a bunch of stuff that’s sat around in the back of the closet and you’ve forgotten about?  I find that we end up donating a lot of things to charities whenever we move.  In fact, when we moved from Arizona to Colorado, I had a bunch of food that wasn’t going to be able to make the trip with us, so I brought to the lady that lived in the townhouse across from us since she had two or three daughters and summer break had just started.  She was very thankful for that.  She even got a plant out of us moving because I realized my plant was not going to survive the trip.

I’m looking at this move as another step in bettering myself.  We will have enough space with this house that I will be able to do a lot of the projects that I’ve wanted to do but just couldn’t do due to that particular restriction.  Some of these projects are just simple little things, like I want a cooking blog for when I make various things (like recently, my apple brownies went over like a hit at a company meeting my husband brought them to….I have a feeling they’re going to be expecting some of those again today when he goes for this week’s.) And since I love to take photos, I wanted to work on a site to showcase some of my pictures that I think are just really good shots.  Plus, I’m going to finally be able to have a home office, a room I can actually go into and shut the door and ignore the world while working on my research or my writing or any of those above projects.

***some minutes later***

I’m also looking forward to this move because it gets us out of this complex, The Wesley Apartments in Denver.  We have complained about not being guaranteed hot water in our unit since we moved in and they still have not addressed it in the near year that we have lived here.  But they’ve repainted the front doors, they’ve installed new windows and some units have new blinds, they recently redid the swimming pool, they’ve done landscaping work as well.  But we still have to play with the water while taking a shower, constantly readjusting to avoid those moments when your lukewarm shower goes to scalding hot then to ice cold.  We also went the entire winter without a working heater and they did not provide us with any other source of heat (though we did mention we do have some space heaters).

I could go on and on about this place, but that’s for another blog entry.

I think that’s all I’ve got for now.  Think I wanna work on one of my writing projects.

Author:

Leaving the real world for one of my own making.

Leave a Reply

