Posted in Blog, Uncategorized

Reflection

*this is a post from my Facebook account.* IMG_20170709_085112775.jpg

 

So, when I was at the Mother Cabrini Shrine I stopped into the chapel. I have often found going to a church and reflecting on things helps center me and lately I’ve been feeling like I needed a major recentering session. I think I was right.

It wouldn’t be right for me to sit and write about what I thought about while sitting there in the pew staring up at this image of The Sacred Heart of Jesus (I believe that’s the proper name for this type of image of Christ, his heartexposed in a way) but I can tell you that I was able to walk out feeling a little less chaotic in my head.

When I made the trek up the steps to the statue, I did a lot of thinking. Oh yeah, that trek is definitely made to make you reflect. Along the way are the Stations of the Cross (though one was missing) with depictions of Christ’s walk to Golgotha and I found it fitting that sometimes the steps were difficult to walk, my legs tired and ached a bit. But I kept on, because I was going to make the trek to the top. As I’m walking up these steps, that cynical part of me is explaining to me why the steps are the way they are… they’re a sort of imitation of Christ’s on His way to be crucified. Then the other part of my brain pipes in with the fact that “Well, if these steps are supposed to make us reflect on Christ and the Passion of the Christ, making us reflect on what He went through, maybe I should be reflecting on way I’m making this trek myself. Maybe I should be thinking about why this is so important to me. Maybe I should be looking at the lesson I need to learn for my own life, atheist or not.”

And that I did.

On the way back down after making it to the summit, taking a breather and getting a few pictures, I realized that the descent was less taxing than the ascent. Kind of like when you push yourself toward a goal. It can be hard, it can be tiring, it can hurt, it can make you want to throw your hands up in the air and say, “Enough! I’m done! I can’t do it anymore!”, but once you make it to your goal, it’s not so hard anymore. You realize how much you’ve gone through and how much more you’ve grown because of your experience.

IMG_20170709_131047793.jpg

“I know from experience that you should never give up on yourself or others, no matter what.” – George Foreman

Author:

Leaving the real world for one of my own making.

Leave a Reply

